PEPA NIEBLA

"Charmant et élégant, la voix de Pepa Niebla
révèle les échos des grandes divas du jazz"

                                                            Nuria Barrios, Journal ¨El País¨. Espagne

La chanteuse et compositrice espagnole Pepa Niebla est réputée pour sa polyvalence vocale qui lui a permis de participer à une grande variété de projets : du blues, de la soul et du jazz au son cubain et à la musique populaire. Ses expériences de vie à Grenade, La Havane, Londres et Bruxelles lui ont donné l'occasion de grandir, d'apprendre et d'expérimenter dans différents genres. Maintenant, installée en Belgique, Niebla a trouvé son son et sa direction en tant qu'artiste, donnant vie à ses propres compositions et arrangements avec son nouveau projet : Le quintette Pepa Niebla.

 

2020 verra la sortie de Renaissance, le premier album de compositions originales de Niebla (après ses sorties Pepa Niebla Project et Pepa Niebla & Ricky Vivar), avec le guitariste Toni Mora, le pianiste Maxime Moyaerts, le contrebassiste Alex Gilson et le batteur primé Daniel Jonkers. Renaissance propose 5 nouvelles compositions originales de Niebla ainsi que de nouvelles chansons de Toni Mora et Fabio Torres avec des paroles en anglais, espagnol et portugais, démontrant ainsi son style unique qui marque le début d'un nouveau chapitre dans la carrière de Niebla.

La musique de Renaissance reflète une influence du jazz contemporain new-yorkais que Pepa a combiné avec des histoires d'amour, de famille et d'immigration pour créer une œuvre sincère et personnelle. L'écriture de Niebla est fraîche et originale, tout en reflétant son étude sérieuse de l'harmonie, du chant et de la composition du jazz. Elle est influencée par les chanteuses Dianne Reeves, Lizz Wright, Nancy Wilson, Carmen McRae, Gretchen Parlato et Esperanza Spalding, ainsi que par les compositeurs Benny Golson, Bill Evans, Wayne Shorter, Pat Metheny et Brian Blade & The Fellowship.

Pepa Niebla a obtenu une distinction pour son diplôme et sa maîtrise en études de jazz au Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles sous la direction de David Linx, Christophe Wallemme, Stéphane Galland, en suivant des masterclasses de musiciens internationaux tels que Norma Winstone, John Clayton et Pete Churchill.

Niebla se produit régulièrement dans les plus grandes salles de jazz de Bruxelles telles que le Sounds Jazz Club, The Music Village et The Jazz Marathon. On peut également l'entendre aux côtés de ses contemporains Bart Quartier (vibraphone), Alex Koo (piano), Marcos Varela (basse), Martin Salemi (piano) et le Toni Mora Quartet.

  • SoundCloud Basic Black
  • Black Spotify Icon
  • Black Apple Music Icon
  • Black Amazon Icon

© 2019 by Pepa Niebla official

Pepa Niebla

‘Warm and elegant, Pepa Niebla’s voice reveals echoes of the great jazz divas’

Nuria Barrios, El País

Pepa Niebla

‘Warm and elegant, Pepa Niebla’s voice reveals echoes of the great jazz divas’

Nuria Barrios, El País

Spanish singer and composer Pepa Niebla is renowned for her vocal versatility that has allowed her to be involved in a great variety of projects: from blues, soul and jazz to Cuban son and popular music. Living in Granada, Havana, London and Brussels gave her the opportunity to grow, learn and experiment in different genres. Now, settled in Belgium, Niebla has found her sound and direction as an artist, bringing to life her own compositions and arrangements with her new project: The Pepa Niebla Quintet.

2020 will see the release of Renaissance, Niebla’s first album of original compositions (following her releases Pepa Niebla Project and Pepa Niebla & Ricky Vivar), featuring guitarist Toni Mora, pianist Maxime Moyaerts, double bassist Alex Gilson and award-winning drummer Daniel Jonkers. Renaissance offers 5 new original compositions by Niebla as well as new songs by Toni Mora and Fabio Torres with lyrics in English, Spanish and Portuguese, demonstrating her unique style that marks the start of a new chapter in Niebla’s career.

The music in Renaissance reflects a New York contemporary jazz influence that Pepa has combined with stories of love, family and immigration to create a sincere and personal work. Niebla’s writing is fresh and original, while reflecting her serious study of jazz harmony, vocals and composition. She is influenced by singers Dianne Reeves, Lizz Wright, Nancy Wilson, Carmen McRae, Gretchen Parlato and Esperanza Spalding, and composers Benny Golson, Bill Evans, Wayne Shorter, Pat Metheny and Brian Blade & The Fellowship.

Pepa Niebla gained a distinction for both her degree and master’s in Jazz Studies at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels under the supervision of David Linx, Christophe Wallemme, Stephane Galland, attending masterclasses from international musicians such as Norma Winstone, John Clayton and Pete Churchill.

Niebla is a regular performer at Brussels’ premier jazz venues such as Sounds Jazz Club, The Music Village and The Jazz Marathon, Niebla can also be heard with contemporaries Bart Quartier (vibraphone), Alex Koo (piano), Marcos Varela (bass), Martin Salemi (piano) and the Toni Mora Quartet.

Between the musicians she has worked with are: Jessica Lauren, David León, Derrick Mcintyre, Juan Galiardo, Paco Perera, Toni Mora, Miguel Benito, Maciek Pysz, Ander García, John Michael Mckenzie, Ricky Vivar, Nacho Salmerón, Pedro Cortejosa, Guillermo Morente, Antonio Lizana, Alex Ayuso, Javier Ruibal, Alex Gilson, Armando Luongo, Jimmy Weinstein, among many others.